A blog for reviews… that's really not much of a blog

Review of [120928]SINCLIENT

Foreword: I am so proud of myself to have finished this game (while studying in college) within one week of its release. In all seriousness, SINCLIENT is a game consisting of mystery, as many of you probably expected. Even as a mystery, there were many fun themes and plotline, and I can definitely say that this was a game that is worth playing. There are very few comical scenes in this game, but it works mostly to create a warm atmosphere as an intermission between events (They say that there’s a calm before the storm, right?)

Despite this, I warn readers that this game contains MASSIVE amounts of difficult kanji. These are the games that even the most proficient Japanese cannot play without some tool to help him, as essentially nothing is written in hiragana or katakana. It’s quite a pity, however, since this game would’ve been enjoyed by much of the English Community.

Finally, this was a game with a LOT of impact, unlike the few games that preceded it.

Unfortunately, I can’t post screenshots due to many of them being spoilers =P

Title: SINCLIENT
Producers: Boost5
Release Date: September 28th, 2012
VNDB Link: http://vndb.org/v10605
Game Type: Mystery, Kinetic Novel

Summary: …Who am I? I wake up in an ambulance where the worker tries his best to calm me down in my confusion. Whatever happened, I don’t know who I am, nor why I am in an ambulance. Suddenly, a car crashes into the ambulance!! Out pops several men in black suits and sunglasses, and they kill everyone in the ambulance within a matter of seconds.

But how…

… How does my body react so quickly? I quickly steal a gun from one of them and eliminate them all… How was I able to do that? What the hell am I?

I look around the environment I’m in, but nothing comes to mind. I don’t know who I am, I don’t know where I live, and I realize that now that I’ve killed people, I can’t stroll out in the daylight freely.

In my wallet, I have many fake IDs, and a hotel key. Maybe I’ll learn something when I get there! In great hopes, I open the door…

… A woman lies face up, her throat cut open, with “pigrizia” (laziness in Italian) written on the wall with her blood.

WHAT THE HELL IS HAPPENING TO ME?!

Story Length: Moderate (25 hours)
Complete Story Clearing Difficulty: N/A
Comments: There are two parts to the story: Begining (it is spelled like this) and Babylon. Personally, I like the Begining Story a lot better, because there’s more mystery and more thrill.

Character Design Rating: 9/10
Story Rating: 8/10
Game Quality: Moderate
Overall Rating: 8/10
Rating Comments: Wow. That’s all I can say. While it’s true that this game lost few points on the “story” due to it being slightly inconsistent and somewhat predictable, the character design was nearly perfect. In the game, you will see many dynamic characters and stories that connect them all together in a heartwarming way.

Sexual Content: Low

Comments: I’ll say this right off the bat. Many characters will die in this story. It’s up to you to guess how and when they die, but they do. However, this only works to increase the sympathy/empathy you feel for them, and even after the story is finished, you will find that you want more of the story, even with the epilogue in the end.

Affection for the Characters: Extremely High.

CG Quality: Moderate. Here’s a spoiler for you: I’ve figured out the plot based on various CG/Sprites that was presented.
Music Quality: Superior. All the music has a tune that makes your adrenaline rush, and combined with the (literally) breathtaking story line, it’s not surprising to be physically dizzy after a while.

Addictiveness: Slightly Low. Even as I can argue that this is a great game, this is not a game that would be worth playing again, as all the plotline is clear to you. I am looking forward to Boost5’s next games, however!

SPOILERS!! : Here

Comments on: "Review of [120928]SINCLIENT" (4)

  1. Nice to see an action eroge review from you here. Keep up the good work.

  2. O.ooo

    is this game violence heavy?

    • Strangely, not as much. In the “Begining” episode, there is one scene that can be considered “gore” (because it shows the woman’s throat cut open), and there’s only a couple other CGs within the entire game that shows blood.

      Other than that, this had FAR less gore than other games, and I really think that one gore scene was just to give shock to the readers

Speak your Mind...

